Evening in the Garden Quilts

Adventures in Fabric Art

Color Spikes Quilt Finished

6 Comments

Color Spikes

This week I finished up this baby quilt.  The top went together very quickly, of course.  I spent much more time arranging the blocks (originally I thought all the blocks would have the color spikes, but that gave me secondary patterns.) than when I finally sewed them.  Then all the straight line quilting was tedious and time-consuming, but very worth it.  It gives it a great crinkly texture and saves it from being so plain.

IMG_1726

The object was to use this very bright print.  It looks like a hand dye, and like it’s crinkled, but it’s just a print.  A print that went with nothing.  I put it with two gray and white dotted fabrics.  I don’t have the selvage, but I think they were “Mix and Match Dots”, or something like that.

Color Spike back

I used the rest of the bright on the back.  Using the Fairy Frost and nearly the last of my Mirrored Dot is probably what started me into the new HST zigzag quilt.

 

IMG_1727

 

Hope you had a satisfying finish this week.

 

I’m linking up with Finish It Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts, where I love Amanda Jean’s new finish.

 

 

 

Author: Valerie

I'm Valerie, also known as Scooquilt. I am passionate about fabric and quilting. My quilts are colorful and modern, but grounded in traditional blocks. My degrees are in Fine Arts and Education. I'm retired from teaching and trying to quilt daily. Reading, gardening, and cats are also important to me.

6 thoughts on “Color Spikes Quilt Finished

  1. very striking, both front and back. The quilting does work very well with it. Great job.

  2. great finish

  3. I like that nice pop of color next to the white and grey!

  4. Man, you’re fast! Everything looks fantastic!

  5. What a fun way to use a crazy fabric! It looks great with the neutrals.

  6. I think it came out gorgeous, Valerie! I truly love the back!

Leave a comment