Evening in the Garden Quilts

Adventures in Fabric Art

North Dakota Landscape Finished

30 Comments

2013-09-20 12.26.03

My landscape quilt based on a vacation photo is finished, and, I think, successful.  This particular scene was in North Dakota, but we saw many similar landscapes as we crossed the U.S. To the west, and then came back east through Canada. Here was our route. Making this really didn’t take that long (it’s only about 18″ x 24″), but I kept puttering around on other things because I wasn’t that comfortable working with images and applique.  My friend, Carol, of LandscapeLady fame, guided and encouraged me on Twitter.  Ironically, while I was working on landscape, she was dipping back into patchwork.  Always good to stretch a bit.

Urbana-20130914-01132

Interestingly, I didn’t use any fusibles on this project.  It has very simple pieces, so I cut freezer paper templates, ironed them to the right side of the fabrics, and cut around the templates.  I used spray adhesive to hold everything in place on a muslin background.  In addition to the muslin, I used two layers of water soluble stabilizer on the back as I machine appliqued everything down and did some decoration with thread.

IMG_000000502013-09-20 12.26.15

This spool of Perfect Quilter variegated thread is what I used to stitch millions of blades of grass in all three layers of the grassy field.  I thought it added texture and helped to unite the three different fabrics a bit.  The top green is less saturated than the earlier photos because I turned it over and used the reverse of the fabric.  That left it a little splotchy, so the stitching helped to even that out.  Then I clipped the top edges of the grass fabrics, frayed them with a brush, and put the top only through the washer and dryer.

2013-09-20 12.26.302013-09-20 12.26.37

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I quilted everything using invisible thread.  It gave it lots of definition.

 

2013-09-20 12.25.54

Design-wise, it was tempting to add some object to the foreground for interest, even though there was nothing in the original scene.  I decided that I really wanted to keep it all about the grass and sky.  I am fortunate to live surrounded by farmland, but it’s cluttered (in a nice way), hemmed in farmland.   The Great Plains are so much about space and distance.  I hope I captured that in this piece.

 

I’m linking up to Finish it up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts, and Applique Tuesday on A Quilting Reader’s Garden.

I’m also linking up to Holiday Memories Mini Quilt Contest at Celtic Thistle Stitches. Come look at the great entries!

Author: Valerie

I'm Valerie, also known as Scooquilt. I am passionate about fabric and quilting. My quilts are colorful and modern, but grounded in traditional blocks. My degrees are in Fine Arts and Education. I'm retired from teaching and trying to quilt daily. Reading, gardening, and cats are also important to me.

30 thoughts on “North Dakota Landscape Finished

  1. Great Plains. Great job. Love the plains as that is where I grew up. Good idea to keep it about the land and sky. Nice job on the three tiered landscape.

  2. You did a fabulous job! I learned something from you with the frayed edges – it adds great texture and interest. Nicely done 🙂

  3. Love how the grass came out! Great tip!

  4. This quilt is absolutely lovely!

  5. Wow! Don’t sell it!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Very well done., Valerie! I can see movement in the clouds and grasses. It needs nothing more.

  7. Lovely! I think you’re right about the foreground, it is tempting to put something in there, but it would distract from the overall composition. Nice finish!

  8. Valerie, I love it! I agree with Darla, you have captured the Great Plains!

  9. I also do not always use fusibles on the art quilts. If I can, I will glue stick the pieces down until I can stitch them. I am amazed with the grass! I thought that was some kind of special upholstery or textured fabric. Great work. I love the piece

  10. So many details. Well done!

  11. I love this! You are so very creative!

  12. This is amazing – such a fantastic holiday memory.

  13. Your quilt has so many lines and stitches and yet is still so peaceful. Such a lovely job.

  14. This is a beautiful piece, and it reminds me of the Canadian prairies too.

  15. It’s beautiful and atmospheric – I love your thread painting!

  16. That is beautiful – I am in awe of the grass. Well done!

  17. Pingback: Getting It Done in September and October | Evening in the Garden Quilts

  18. Great quilt, definitely captures the wide open spaces. Thanks for entering the competition too, good luck!

  19. Amazing!!! I LOVE your landscape!!!

  20. This looks great. I’d love to visit there one day 🙂

  21. That grass is so amazing! How creative!

  22. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: I Won! | Evening in the Garden Quilts

  23. Please let me know how I can use the image of this quilt for the cover of my North Dakota travel guide! I’ve looked at lots of images and this is the one I want for both my ebook and my POD book. Please reply!! tHANKS!
    Sylvia Wendel
    northdakotacuriousguide@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

