Evening in the Garden Quilts

Adventures in Fabric Art

String Finish

3 Comments

2012-11-28 13.46.31IMG_1367

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been sewing and sewing, but not reducing much stash.  I don’t like to think I have very many UFOs, because I usually finish projects straight through, but I do have a few.  I pulled out these 35 string blocks that are 6-9 months old.  They were made with remnants of the Midwest Modern fabric I used in this quilt.  I think I probably meant to sash them to make them large enough for a donation quilt of some sort.  I tried them with cream, gold, and pink, the consensus on Twitter being the pink and yellow batik.

 

2013-09-23 10.04.21

They were numbered, so I put them up on my design wall, and really liked the set without sashing, so I used the pink for borders.  The blocks are so busy that I didn’t think intricate quilting would show up on them.

2013-09-23 10.05.112013-09-23 10.05.03

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I stitched three wavey lines on alternate rows and columns.  In the empty blocks, I put a free-hand rose with four leaves.

2013-09-23 10.04.47

The borders, though, were ripe for feathers!  They were a bit wide, so I did a scalloped border first.  Then I marked a curvy spine and lower boundary for the feathers and had at it.  I used a butterscotch-colored Living Colors thread from Superior, 40 wt, I think.  I was in a great feather zone and had a lovely time working on them.  Unfortunately, I also sewed feathers every time I closed my eyes that night.  Ah, the price of great art.

2013-09-23 10.06.47

The back is just barely pieced, and used the rest of the batik, plus a pink and yellow piece  for which I was happy to find a home.

2013-09-23 10.08.26

This ended up 52″ x 67″, which makes a nice throw, and I put it in my shop.  I have no idea where Yuri was during these pictures, but I managed without him.

I hope you’re playing with fabric today.

Author: Valerie

I'm Valerie, also known as Scooquilt. I am passionate about fabric and quilting. My quilts are colorful and modern, but grounded in traditional blocks. My degrees are in Fine Arts and Education. I'm retired from teaching and trying to quilt daily. Reading, gardening, and cats are also important to me.

3 thoughts on “String Finish

  1. Very pretty. Love the soft colors and a great way to use up scraps.

  2. It’s so sweet and delicate. Congrats on gettin her done!

  3. Pingback: Getting It Done in September and October | Evening in the Garden Quilts

Leave a Reply

