Evening in the Garden Quilts

Adventures in Fabric Art

A Quiet Finish

4 Comments

 

2016-02-05 13.42.42The bright sunshine I’m enjoying today played havoc with taking good photos of this understated little quilt (I was just glad it wasn’t sleeting as it was yesterday).  I hope you can see how delicately feminine this baby quilt is.

2016-02-05 13.43.13I ordered the floral last month, probably for a backing, but they only had half a yard left when they filled my order.  The flowers are a blue-gray, with aqua centers.  I paired it with this beautiful mocha colored Grunge that appears to be brushed with aqua paint.  On the top I added a linen colored solid.

2016-02-05 13.43.33The back is more of the Grunge, and an aqua and mocha print. I kept the quilting pretty simple, and I love the way it turned out.  I used a variegated gray Rainbows thread from Superior on the top, and Bottom Line on the bottom.

2016-02-05 13.44.32

This worked up very quickly, of course, and I enjoyed every minute of working on it.  Wish I knew a baby girl who needs this, but it will go into my Etsy shop.

2016-02-05 13.45.28

Good luck on your finishes.  Maybe you can join us this weekend for the Sports Ball Sew In on Twitter and Facebook.  #SBSI

SBSI

I’m linking up Finish It Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts.

Author: Valerie

I'm Valerie, also known as Scooquilt. I am passionate about fabric and quilting. My quilts are colorful and modern, but grounded in traditional blocks. My degrees are in Fine Arts and Education. I'm retired from teaching and trying to quilt daily. Reading, gardening, and cats are also important to me.

4 thoughts on “A Quiet Finish

  1. It’s a very simple, yet so nice looking quilt Valerie! Hope it will sell quickly!

  2. Very pretty, I love the large floral mixed with that grunge. I have been sewing a grunge binding binding on a baby quilt today. Grunge is one of my favorite “colors”. Great job!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Stash Report: 2/7/16 | Evening in the Garden Quilts

  4. Really lovely baby quilt. I love the colors, and the quilting you’ve done was a great choice!

Leave a Reply

