Evening in the Garden Quilts

Adventures in Fabric Art

WIP Wednesday:. Three Projects

Leave a comment

image

I started this week quilting this quilt made from the Impressionist style fabrics.  Another few hours should finish it up, and then I’ll post more about it.

image

Yesterday, I put that quilt aside to cut fabrics to make heart blocks for a quilt for Orlando survivors and families.  This is being coordinated by the Orlando Modern Quilt Guild.  There’s a new post today with details and the address, and yes, just blocks are also welcome.  They’re using this tutorial from Cluck Cluck Sew.

image

At the gym this morning I dropped my Bluetooth earpiece AGAIN and narrowly missed having it stepped on AGAIN, and finally decided it was time I stopped juggling my little pile of keys, phone, earpiece, and Y card, alongside my water bottle.  So I moved the heart blocks off the cutting table and cut some fabric for a little zipper pouch.  Yes, that’s the &#$% flamingo outdoor fabric that I fought with to make the deck cushion and pillows.  But I had large scraps still lying out, and I feel like it should stand up well to being kicked into the corner of the aerobics room and hung from the elliptical machine.  So far, so good.  The lining is the last of my Flea Market Fancy in a pretty peachy-pink.

So, I’ll finish up this pouch and get back to the heart blocks this afternoon.  At least it’s relatively cool here and my studio is habitable.

What do you have in progress?

Author: Valerie

I'm Valerie, also known as Scooquilt. I am passionate about fabric and quilting. My quilts are colorful and modern, but grounded in traditional blocks. My degrees are in Fine Arts and Education. I'm retired from teaching and trying to quilt daily. Reading, gardening, and cats are also important to me.

Leave a Reply

